• icon-wishlist
  • icon-cart

A WALK DOWN MEMORY LANE WITH THE BLEU-BLANC-ROUGE ADIDAS REVERSE RETRO HOCKEY NIGHTS

As part of the Adidas REVERSE RETRO hockey nights, the Bleu-Blanc-Rouge players will be wearing jerseys inspired by the ones worn in the mid-1970s. As a proud partner of this event, we’re also feeling a bit retro! So, for the occasion, we're reverting to one of our first logos in support of our favourite team.

Upcoming Bleu-Blanc-Rouge Adidas REVERSE RETRO hockey nights:

  • Februrary 4th Montreal vs Ottawa
  • Februrary 11th Montreal vs Edmonton
  • Februrary 20th Montreal vs Toronto
  • March 4th Montreal vs Winnipeg
  • March 20th Montreal vs Vancouver
  • March 24th Montreal vs Edmonton

With our 80+ year-long story, RONA knows a thing or two about going retro. So, as a proud partner  of the Bleu-Blanc-Rouge, we will be bold during the 6 REVERSE RETRO hockey nights and revert to our emblematic bird logo in support of our favourite team.

The Origins of RONA’s “Rare Bird” Logo

This logo, first introduced in 1965, was created to convey a group philosophy and identity for the member dealers part of the Quincaillerie Ro-Na  company. These independent hardware dealers, assembled to form the Ro-Na chain, were identified as “rare birds” because they shared outdated values of offering quality products at affordable prices.

The “rare Ro-Na bird” therefore became the perfect insignia to represent the hardware experts part of this family: Serious people who would never sell you a thingamabob when what you really needed was a thingamajig. And that bird was a rare bird indeed.

He was, as described back in the days:

  • Large and plump --> With everything you need
  • Colourful --> Nothing dreary or ordinary about him.
  • Standing on his feet --> Offering proven products you can rely on.
  • Looking towards the future --> With your well-being and success in mind.

The arrival of the bird logo was the beginning of a great wave that would spread like wildfire across the Quebec territory, thanks in part by the massive province-wide advertising campaign imagined by Napoléon Piotte, one of the two Ro-Na founders.

This campaign was his way of moving with the times and staying in touch with his clients: “...To better understand them and sell to them while continuing to adhere to the same principles of quality courtesy savings, and service for which we are known everywhere and which distinguish us as the rare birds we are.”

The “rare bird” logo was subsequently adopted for the Le Quincailler banner and continued to be used as the brand’s emblem for decades until it was eventually retired in 1998.

Join us in celebrating the great stories and partnerships we’ve shared throughout the years, and enjoy the game!

• icon-wishlist
  • icon-cart

UN RETOUR DANS LE TEMPS AVEC LES SOIRÉES DE HOCKEY ADIDAS REVERSE RETRO DU TRICOLORE

Dans le cadre des soirées de hockey Adidas REVERSE RETRO, les joueurs du Tricolore revêtiront leurs chandails qui s’inspirent du modèle porté vers le milieu des années 1970. En tant que fier partenaire de cet événement, nous aussi on se la joue rétro. Nous avons donc décidé de ressortir l’un de nos premiers logos en soutien à notre équipe favorite.

Les soirées de hockey Adidas REVERSE RETRO du Tricolore à venir :

  • 04 février Montréal vs Ottawa
  • 11 février Montréal vs Edmonton
  • 20 février Montréal vs Toronto
  • 04 mars Montréal vs Winnipeg
  • 20 mars Montréal vs Vancouver
  • 24 mars Montréal vs Edmonton

Avec plus de 80 ans d’histoire, on peut dire que RONA s’y connait bien côté rétro. Donc, en tant que fier partenaire du Tricolore, nous avons décidé de profiter des six soirées REVERSE RETRO pour ressortir notre emblématique oiseau et soutenir notre équipe favorite.

Les origines de « L’oiseau rare » RONA

Ce logo, introduit en 1965, fut créé pour communiquer la philosophie et l’identité communes à tous les marchands membres de la compagnie Quincaillerie Ro-Na. Ces commerçants indépendants, rassemblés sous la chaîne Ro-Na, étaient reconnus comme étant des « oiseaux rares » parce qu’ils partageaient tous les mêmes valeurs “démodées” d’offrir des produits de qualité à des prix abordables.

« L’oiseau rare Ro-Na » est donc devenu l’emblème parfait pour représenter les experts quincaillers de cette grande famille : des gens sérieux qui ne vendraient jamais un machin-truc quand c’est un truc-machin qu’il vous faut. Et cet oiseau, il était effectivement très rare.

Tel que décrit à l’époque, il était :

  • Gros et gras : avec en réserve tout ce dont vous avez besoin.
  • Coloré : chez lui, rien de morne ou d’ordinaire.
  • Solide sur pattes : offrant des produits qui ont fait leurs preuves.
  • Tourné vers l’avenir : voulant votre bien et votre progrès.

L’arrivée du logo de l’oiseau a été le début d’une grande vague se déferlant sur le territoire québécois en partie grâce à une campagne publicitaire massive à l’échelle de la province imaginée par Napoléon Piotte, l’un des cofondateurs de Ro-Na.

Cette campagne était pour lui sa façon d’être de son temps, de vivre au même rythme que le client, «…pour mieux le comprendre, pour mieux lui vendre, mais en nous servant toujours des mêmes principes de qualité, de courtoisie, d’économie et de service qui nous font reconnaître partout et qui font remarquer les oiseaux rares que nous sommes».

Le logo de « l’oiseau rare » a ensuite été adopté comme emblème de marque pour la bannière Le Quincailler pendant des décennies, jusqu’à ce qu’il soit finalement retiré en 1998.

Joignez-vous à nous pour célébrer les grands moments que nous avons vécus ensembles au fil des ans, et bon match!